de / en

Assoc.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.
Holger Arthaber

Tel.: +43 (0)1 58 80 1 - 354 20
Fax: +43 (0)1 58 80 1 - 9354 20
E-Mail:

Address:

TU Wien
Institute of Electrodynamics, Microwave and Circuit Engineering
Gusshausstrasse 25/354
1040 Vienna
AUSTRIA

Room:

CF 01 31

Teachings:

Curriculum Vitae:

Holger Arthaber was born 1975 in Vienna, Austria. He received his Dipl.-Ing. and Dr.techn. degree in electrical engineering from the TU Wien, Vienna, Austria in 2000 and 2004, respectively. In 2017 he received the Habilitation (venia docendi) for “Radio Frequency Engineering” from TU Wien. He started his academic career in the field of signal processing for mobile communication (antenna combining algorithms). In 2000 he changed to the Institute of Electrical Measurement and Circuit Design for researching in the field of efficient and linear RF power amplifiers with a focus on switched mode power amplifiers (SMPA) and related RF measurement systems. Further research topics of Holger Arthaber are RFID (radio frequency identification) systems and tag localization, microwave sensors, and antenna measurements. Since 2009 Holger Arthaber is the head of the Microwave Engineering Group at the Institute of Electrodynamics, Microwave and Circuit Engineering at TU Wien.

In recent years, he managed more than 30 research projects and obtained funds over 2.5 million Euros. He contributed and still contributes to various research projects funded by national and international research agencies as well as directly by industry

He is author and co-author of 88 peer-reviewed publications and holds three EU/US-patents. Together with co-inventors he applied for four further patents. He was co-chair and co-organizer of the “EURASIP Workshop on RFID Technology” in 2007 and chair and organizer of the “International Workshop on Integrated Nonlinear Microwave and Millimetre-wave Circuits (INMMiC)” in 2011. Holger Arthaber was awarded the Dr. Ernst Fehrer Preis of TU Wien, in 2004 and received further awards for patents and standardization efforts during the last years.

Holger Arthaber is deeply involved in academic teaching. His main foci are radio frequency related courses in the Master study program ranging from fundamentals to deepening and specialized lectures. He supervised 20 diploma theses and is currently (November 2017) supervising three diploma theses and four doctoral theses.

Current research fields of Holger Arthaber are:

  • Antenna design and measurements
  • Digitally (binary) driven RF power amplifiers
  • Load-pull techniques (active/broadband loads, IF-calibration techniques)
  • Material characterization
  • Microwave sensing
  • Microwave system design
  • Mixed digital/RF circuits (incl. real-time signal processing)
  • Modeling and linearization of RF power amplifiers (with focus on digitally driven amplifiers)
  • Nonlinear measurement techniques (LSNA, X-parameters, pulsed measurements)
  • RFID systems (channel measurement/emulation, localization algorithms)
  • Switched mode power amplifiers

His detailed CV can be downloaded here.

Publication list, arranged by media (all)

de / en

Ass.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.
Holger Arthaber

Tel.: +43 (0)1 58 80 1 – 354 20
Fax: +43 (0)1 58 80 1 – 9354 20
E-Mail:

Adresse:

Technische Universität Wien
Institute of Electrodynamics, Microwave and Circuit Engineering
Gußhausstraße 25/354
1040 Wien

Raum:

CF 01 31

Lehre:

Lebenslauf:

Holger Arthaber wurde 1975 in Wien geboren. In den Jahren 2000 und 2004 erhielt er die akademischen Grade Dipl.-Ing. und Dr.techn. von der Technischen Universität Wien verliehen. Seine akademische Karriere startete er im Forschungsbereich der Signalverarbeitung für Mobilkommunikation (Diversitätsempfänger). Im Jahr 2000 wechselte er an das Institut für Elektrische Mess- und Schaltungstechnik. Seither forscht er vorrangig auf dem Gebiet effizienter und linearer Hochfrequenz-Leistungsverstärker. Dieses Themengebiet beinhaltet unter anderem geschaltete Hochfrequenz-Leistungsverstärker sowie auf Leistungsverstärker ausgerichtete Messmethoden und -systeme. Weitere Forschungsgebiete von Holger Arthaber umfassen die Modellierung nichtlinearer Hochfrequenzsysteme, RFID (radio frequency identification) Systeme und Lokalisierungsverfahren, Mikrowellensensoren sowie Antennenmesstechnik. Seit 2009 ist Holger Arthaber Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe Mikrowellentechnik am Institute of Electrodynamics, Microwave and Circuit Engineering an der Technischen Universität Wien .

In den letzten Jahren leitete er über 30 Forschungsprojekte und warb Forschungsmittel im Wert von 2,5 Millionen Euro ein. Er lieferte bzw. liefert wissenschaftlichen Input für diverse Forschungsprojekte, finanziert sowohl durch nationale und internationale Fonds als auch direkt durch die Industrie.

Er ist Autor und Co-Autor von 88 peer-reviewed Publikationen, hält drei EU/US-Patente und meldete mit Miterfindern weitere vier Patente an. Er war Co-Chair und Mitorganisator des „EURASIP Workshop on RFID Technology” im Jahr 2007 sowie Chair und Organisator des „International Workshop on Integrated Nonlinear Microwave and Millimetre-wave Circuits (INMMiC)” im Jahr 2011. Holger Arthaber wurde 2004 mit dem Dr. Ernst Fehrer Preis der Technischen Universität Wien ausgezeichnet.

Holger Arthaber ist stark in der akademischen Lehre eingebunden. Sein Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf Vorlesungen im Bereich Hochfrequenztechnik. Er deckt dabei die Grundlagenlehre ab und leitet darüber hinaus auch Spezial- und Vertiefungsveranstaltungen. Er war Betreuer von 19 Diplomarbeiten. Gegenwärtig (Stand August 2017) betreut er vier Diplom- und unterstützt vier Doktorarbeiten.

Holger Arthabers aktuelle Forschungsgebiete sind:

  • Antenna design and measurements
  • Digitally (binary) driven RF power amplifiers
  • Load-pull techniques (active/broadband loads, IF-calibration techniques)
  • Material characterization
  • Microwave sensing
  • Microwave system design
  • Mixed digital/RF circuits (incl. real-time signal processing)
  • Modeling and linearization of RF power amplifiers (with focus on digitally driven amplifiers)
  • Nonlinear measurement techniques (LSNA, X-parameters, pulsed measurements)
  • RFID systems (channel measurement/emulation, localization algorithms)
  • Switched mode power amplifiers

Sein detaillierter Lebenslauf kann hier heruntergeladen werden.

Publikationsliste, sortiert nach Medien (alle)